IPL 2021: Gaikwad, Du Plessis sparkle in CSK’s seven-wicket win over SRH

New Delhi, April 28: Ruturaj Gaikwad’s rankling 75-run thump and a fifty from Faf du Plessis helped Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to crush SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) by seven-wicket here at the Arun Jaitley Stadium on Wednesday. 

With this success, CSK moved at the highest point of the table with its fifth continuous successes. Pursuing 172, Gaikwad and Du Plessis gave a flying beginning to CSK. The openers showed their aims from the start of the run-pursue. 

Both the openers began taking on SRH bowlers and crushed them all around the recreation center. The couple added 54 runs in the Powerplay overs. The openers proceeded with the butchery and proceeded to take the side to the three-figure mark in the eleventh over. 

Then, Du Plessis finished his fifty off 32 balls. In the twelfth over, Gaikwad likewise crushed his fifth IPL 50 years. The 129-run opening organization was put to an end by Rashid Khan in the thirteenth over as he excused bowled out Gaikwad subsequent to scoring 75 off 44. His thump was studded with 12 fours. 

Rashid in his last over gave a twofold hit to CSK as he picked Du Plessis (56) and Moeen Ali (15) on progressive balls. Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina stayed unbeaten on seven and 17 runs separately as CSK dominated the match with nine balls to save. 

For SRH, Rashid got back with the figures of 3-36 in his four overs. 

Prior, a late assault from Kane Williamson and fifties from Manish Pandey and captain David Warner guided SRH to 171/3 in their assigned 20 overs. 

Selecting to bat first, openers neglected to give the side the ideal beginning as Jonny Bairstow (7) was picked by pacer Sam Curran in the fourth finished. 

Manish Pandey, acquired the playing XI, joined Warner in the center. The couple in the wake of focusing ready played angrily and expanded the run-rate as they crushed limits at standard stretches. 

Pandey and Warner sewed a 106-run organization off 87 balls. In the mean time, Pandey finished his 50 years in 35 balls. Warner likewise finished his fifty in the sixteenth over. 

Warner crushed his 50th fifty and 200 sixes in the IPL. He likewise finished 10,000 runs in the T20 cricket. 

In the eighteenth over, Lungi Ngidi packed away both Warner (57) and Pandey (61) and left the side reeling at 134/3. 

Williamson and Kedar Jadhav took the charge of moving the scoreboard. Williamson’s hitting empowers SRH to collected 20 runs from Shardul Thakur’s nineteenth over. In the last finished, the couple added 13 runs and took the all out to 171/3 of every 20 overs. 

Williamson’s 26-run thump was studded with a six and four 4s while Jadhav scored 12 off four balls. 

For CSK, Ngidi packed away two scalps while Chahar took one wicket. 

Brief Scores: SRH 171/3 out of 20 overs (Manish Pandey 61, David Warner 57, Kane Williamson 26*; Ngidi 2-35); CSK 173/3 in 18.3 overs (Ruturaj Gaikwad 75, Faf du Plessis 56; Rashid Khan 3-36).