McKinnon Leaders of the Year


Melbourne: Penny Wong and Jordon Steele-John have been named the McKinnon Political Leaders of the Year for their courageous, visionary and collaborative political leadership in 2018.

Senator Penny Wong was named the 2018 McKinnon Political Leader of the Year for her leadership and advocacy in promoting a more tolerant and inclusive Australia and for shaping Australia’s foreign policy dialogue.

In accepting her award, Senator Wong said these were testing times for democracy. “Many Australians have lost faith in our institutions and their representatives,” Senator Wong said.

Senator Jordon Steele-John, was named the McKinnon Emerging Political Leader of the Year, for politicians with less than five years in office, for his outstanding leadership on disability advocacy.

Steele-John said, “It is time to acknowledge that our political system is made up largely of people whose lives and experiences look nothing like those of the community they are supposed to serve.

University of Melbourne Provost Mark Considine chaired the 2018 McKinnon Prize selection panel which included former Prime Ministers John Howard and Julia Gillard as well as distinguished business, political, education and sporting leaders.

(Press release)